Loading... Please wait...

Pip and Tim Decodable Books

Pip and Tim Decodable Books

The Little Learner decodable books have delightful stories that children can read using their phonic knowledge; the letters and sounds that they have been explicitly taught using the Little Learners Love Literacy approach. We call them the NO TRICKS books. They are our 'Secret Ingredient' for reading success. 

Australian books children LOVE to read with words they CAN read!

There are generally two types of books given to young readers - decodable (books which have letters and sounds that children have been taught) and predictable (repetitive text which encourages children to look at the picture and guess the word). The Pip and Tim series of books are carefully sequenced decodable books.  

Our Pip and Tim are sequenced in 7 stages so that children experience success from the start. Children love the continuity of the adventures of Pip and Tim as they find out more about their lives, their teachers and friends.

Each book has an interesting story about the adventures of Pip and Tim with words that can be decoded or 'sounded out' plus a few Heart words.

Heart Words are introduced at each stage. Heart words are words that chlldren need to 'learn by heart' as they cannot decode them at this stage. Heart words are essential to create a story. 

Each book lists the known sounds, identifies the Heart words, has a vocabulary check plus questions to talk about section.  Before your child starts reading each book, go to the back two pages. Encourage your child to point at the graphemes (letters) and say the sounds, then ask them to read the Heart words. 

The five books for each stage provide lots of reading practice. Children should read the books at least three times to develop their confidence, skills and fluency. Children love reading about the adventures of Pip and Tim.  The stories are humorous with a twist at the end. Some of these stories are based on real life events as told by the author Berys Dixon. She uses her classroom experience to make the stories real. We want children to LOVE reading.  

A sample page from each stage is shown below with a list of stages and titles at the end. Each stage has 5 books which adds up to 55 books in total.

The special classroom pack with 5 copies of each book saves 20% $2060 (305 books). A 'must have' resource for every Early Years classroom.  Additional information is also provided on our Online Shop. We call our 'decodable books' the secret ingredient to being a successful and confident reader.  

The Macquarie Multi-lit program recommend our decodable stories to be used with their programs. 

The Home Pack includes one copy of each story -  61 sequential decodable books. Order online $480

Alison Clark from Spelfabet wrote about our Pip and Tim books and made a video.  Alison gives an overview of the 7 Stages of our Pip and Tim books.  

Home pack of Little Learner Books: Stages 1-7



Stage 1 - m s f a p t c i

Heart words: the The My my I



Stage 2 - b h n o d g l v
Heart Words: as in Stage 1




Stage 3 - y r e qu z
Heart Words: he to was we she



Stage 4 - j u k x w
Heart Words: of are too for her




Stage Plus 4

This set of 5 books consolidates the sounds and letters from Stages 1,2,3 & 4. It also bridges Stage 4 and Stage 5. The design is quite different incorporating speech bubbles and text separated by illustrations. In fact, these books don't look like readers at all! The stories about Tim and Pip are quirky so that the children will love them. The letter 'a' as a word is introduced along with the double consonants representing one sound, as in tell, still, off.





Stage 5 - a b c d e f g h i j k l m n o p qu r s t u v w x y z
digraph -ck double consonants - one sound such as rabbit, miss.







Stage 6 ck sh ch th ng

Quack! the first book in this series made the long list of the Australian Speech Pathology Book of the Year Award. What a great achievement! Stage 6 focuses on teaching and reading words with consonant digraphs - two consonant letters representing one sound. Quack focuses on ck, The Shed Shop focuses on sh but also revises ck. It is important that children read the books in order as there is a gradual build up of all the digraphs and most importantly the stories follow on in a story sequence. Each book has a list of Speed Words. These words can be decoded and provide practice in developing word fluency and automaticity. These can be photocopied for word games. Quack! This delightful story focuses on - ck. In this story there is a problem - a noise from a rock. What is it? Oh, it is Quack, the duck. Why does Quack keep coming back?


The Shed Shop focuses on words with sh. Tim and Pip clean up the shed for dad and end up selling most of the junk.


The Munch Bunch Fun Park focuses on words with ch. Feeling so rich after selling the junk in the shed, they go to the Munch Bunch Fun Park.


Thud Thump Thunk focuses on words with th. This book introduces the Smith twins who get up to quite a bit of mischief.


A Day in the Jungle focuses on ng. Tim and Pip explore their garden thinking it is just like a jungle.



Stage 7 Unit 1
Vowel graphemes - ai, ay, ee, ea, igh, ie, oa


page-13-the-teeny-tiney-tree.jpg        1beach-camp-pic-for-presentation-0.jpg


Stage 7 Unit 2 
Vowel graphemes: ar or aw er ir ur air

1.jpg      3.jpg   art-party.jpg    6.jpg



Stage 7 Unit 3

Vowel Graphemes:  oi oy oo ou ow    More information on the online shop. 

hullabaloo.png    down-on-the-farm-cover.png  oops.png  oink-cover.png   hullabazoo.png

boo-the-goose.png                oimail.png            page-from-oops.jpg    

from Hullabaloo                                           Mrs Mack writes an email to Pip and Tim.        from Oops!  Pip and Tim begin to cook. 


Stage 7 Unit 4  Split vowel digraphs a-e  e-e  i-e  o-e  u-e 


    rise-and-shine.jpg  high-hopes.jpg   a-huge-day-.jpg